Story Time in the Garden

Children enjoy story time in the garden.

Children enjoy story time in the garden.

Story Time will be held for children toddlers through second grade 10:00 AM every Thursday in June, July, August and September in the field north of the Linnaeus Teaching Garden. Older children who enjoy listening to stories read aloud are welcome to attend as well.  Adults, we will have several quilts for families to sit on, but you are encouraged to bring a blanket and personal snacks and drinks for your own children.

We also schedule an evening event once in the spring and once in the fall we call Story Time under the Stars, beginning at 6:30 PM to accommodate families whose schedules don’t permit attending during the day. It’s a wonderful opportunity to see how beautiful the garden is as the sun goes down.

Picture books with garden themes will be read followed by an activity in the Linnaeus Garden.

Story Time is free to the public and is held rain or shine (we’ll move into the barn or our education building during inclement weather.)

 

Spring Break: 10:00 AM at the Linnaeus Teaching Garden

  • All About Gardens, Thursday March 22

Story Time Under the Stars, 6:30 PM:

  • Flowers, Seeds, and Birds, Thursday May 10
  • Pumpkins, Bats, Owls, Nighttime, Thursday October 18

Summer Story Time June through September, 10:00 AM:

  • Weather and Rain, Thursday June 7
  • Ladybugs and Insects, Thursday June 14
  • Pollinators, Thursday June 21
  • Ponds, Fish, Frogs, and Reptiles, Thursday June 28
  • Worms and Compost, Thursday July 5
  • Fruits and Veggies, Thursday July 12
  • Five Senses, Thursday July 19
  • Creatures in the Garden, Thursday July 26
  • Art in the Garden, Thursday August 2
  • Spiders and Bugs, Thursday August 9
  • Colors, Shapes and Numbers, Thursday August 16
  • Sunflowers, Thursday August 23
  • Seasons, Thursday August 30
  • Apples, Thursday September 6
  • Monarch Migration, Thursday September 13
  • Trees and Leaves, Thursday September 20
  • Scarecrows, Thursday September 27